Skagit Valley Tulips at Sunrise

DSC_0125

One of my goals this year–if I’m being honest, it’s my goal every year–is to spend a lot more time out. Out of the house, out of the office, outside–just out. Now that our incredibly cold and wet Pacific Northwest winter seems to be coming to a close (finally!), I figured that the present was as good a time as any to get started.

I kicked off last weekend by playing hooky with a visit to Skagit County, about an hour north of Seattle, for the annual Skagit Valley Tulip Festival. Each April, the region’s tulip farms open their fields and show gardens to the public. Beautiful tulip blossoms in varying degrees of bloom stretch across the landscape and disappear into the horizon. It’s a colorful display of nature and artistry, a perfect opportunity to practice my photography skills.

They say the best photographers don’t just take photos–they make them. I take that to mean that great photos don’t always just happen. Sometimes, you have to create the right conditions for magic to happen.

For me, that meant a 4:30 am departure time to capture the tulip fields illuminated in the low level light of sunrise. Clad in my requisite rain boots, I arrived in Skagit Valley while the sky was still dark and had the fields all to myself, except for a few other intrepid souls with a similar goal in mind.

Watching the sunrise bathe the tulips in the most beautiful morning light will probably be up there on my list of favorite 2017 memories. And yes, it was well worth the early start.

I hope you enjoy these photos–I’m pretty proud of them if I do say so myself.

3 thoughts on “Skagit Valley Tulips at Sunrise

  1. SauceBox April 27, 2017 / 8:23 pm

    These pictures are awesome! Love how the sun looks on these, you are really talented! Good stuff! You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

Leave a Reply

