Marsha Eats: Tuscan Vegetable Soup

tuscan-vegetable-soup-04

I’m planning to travel more this year–a LOT more. All that travel’s gonna take money and one of the ways I’m saving money is by preparing most of my meals at home. I’ve shared a few of my favorite recipes here before and I’m happy to say I’ve found a new favorite: Tuscan vegetable soup.

This meat-free meal (it’s also vegan if you use vegetable stock in lieu of chicken stock), is chock full of vegetables: onions, celery, carrots, and zucchini and it’s oh, so savory with earthy sage, bright thyme, and the unmistakeable tang of garlic to give it some flavor. Mashed cannellini beans give it body and whole beans add depth and texture. Add to all this deliciousness, this light yet hearty soup whips up in a jiffy–from chopping to finish it comes in at just about half an hour.

tuscan-vegetable-soup-02tuscan-vegetable-soup-03

A double batch is just as easy to make–just a bit more chopping and a bit more time–and yields between 10-12 servings that freeze remarkably well and taste even better after the flavors have spent some time marrying. Serve a savory roll on the side (Trader Joe’s Rosemary Parmigiano parbaked panini rolls are highly recommended) to add to the meal. Cheap, fast, tasty, and convenient, it’s little wonder why this new go-to recipe has earned a place of honor on my refrigerator door.

2 thoughts on “Marsha Eats: Tuscan Vegetable Soup

  1. Cate Cussell February 25, 2017 / 5:05 am

    This looks delicious ~ I love brothy soups, the liquid always tastes so light but flavourful. Bet it was beatifully filling too 😋

  2. Marsha February 25, 2017 / 5:07 am

    The veggies make it surprisingly filling! You should definitely give it a try sometime. 👌

Comments are closed.