Digging In

I’d promised to post a new blog every Thursday, but in the current political climate, everything I want to write about seems trivial in light of everything that’s at stake here in America.

It’s hard to write about minimalism, or a new capsule wardrobe, or my latest knitting project, or where I’m planning to travel next when the rights and freedoms of so many are being denied or slowly stripped away.

Every fresh piece of news feels like a cuff to the chin, an assault that leaves me dizzy and reeling. For the past two weeks, I’ve been feeling overwhelmed but at last, lately, purposeful. And, when my head goes spinning and I need something to ground me, I’ve been finding perspective and direction precisely in those seemingly trivial things .

Where I’m finding the most guidance: my pursuit of a minimalist life. Minimalism has taught me to evaluate how I fill my life physically, mentally, and emotionally. I’ve learned to interrogate those things that surround me and ask myself, “Does this thing belong in my life right now?” If the answer is no, then I need to get it out of my life. It’s that simple. If the answer yes, then I need to put it in its proper place.

I’ve been trying to follow ALL THE NEWS, to stay vigilant, to be an “anxious, jealous guardian of democracy.” But I can’t do it all. I have to focus. Trying to fight every battle is just going to exhaust my resources so I’m ineffectual for the battles that matter the most. So I’m evaluating. Slowing it down. Listening to my gut. Following my passions.

I know that protecting public lands and the environment is where I’m going to spend most of my energies. I just have to know and trust that the rest of you will focus energy on the issues that matter most to you.  And hope that, at the end of the day, collectively, we’ll have all the important issues covered.

Time to dig in.

 

 

Leave a Reply

