Knitting Can Be Expensive…and Sometimes, That’s Okay

 

ashland_1-600x900
The Ashland Pullover via Brooklyn Tweed

 

Even though August tends to be the hottest month of the year, in the back of my mind these dog days of summer always mean September–and subsequently fall–is right around the corner. I immediately begin dreaming about cinnamon-spiced everything, changing colors, and cooler days. And, if I’m honest, I’m really fantasizing about sweater weather and getting a new woolen garment on my knitting needles.

When I first start looking for a new sweater pattern, my first stop is almost always Brooklyn Tweed. I’ve written before about how much I love the brand and this year, I’m pretty sure I’ll be making the Ashland pullover. It will be my first experience with colorwork and steeking–basically cutting into your knitwork as part of the process–and the prospect of a challenging new project is totally tantalizing. But then I calculated the price tag on the project: nearly $125 for the required amount of Brooklyn Tweed Loft yarn plus the cost of the pattern and the knitting needles I’ll need to complete this gorgeous sweater.

Before I pull the trigger on buying the yarn, I always rationalize ways I can reduce cost. After all, I could probably purchase a similar sweater in a store for half that amount, right? Or I could use another, less expensive yarn. However, at the end of the day, the act of knitting a garment with a yarn that just feels good between my fingers provides a deep sense of pleasure and satisfaction. In fact, there are a few more reasons why I’m okay with spending so much on yarn for a single knitting project.

Not Just a Hobby

Not that spending on your hobbies is a bad thing. It’s just that this knitting project wouldn’t just be a hobby–it would also add a statement piece to my fall capsule wardrobe, too. Plus, I can customize it to coordinate with those delicious burgundy booties I saw last week. You could say the project expenses would be my hobby and my clothing budgets rolled into one.

Made to Last

The high quality of the completed garment means I can wear it for years to come. The cost-per-wear on the sweater would be significantly less than many items I’ve bought for half the price making it a much better long-term value.

Supporting the Economy

Brooklyn Tweed yarns are, in every sense of the word, all-American wool: shorn from Wyoming bighorn sheep, the wool is processed in Texas, dyed in Pennsylvania, and milled in New Hampshire.  Buying Brooklyn Tweed yarns supports local economies and industries here in the United States, and I’m proud I can be part of that process.

Think I’m crazy to spend so much on a knitting project? Have you spent even more than that? Tell me in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Knitting Can Be Expensive…and Sometimes, That’s Okay

  1. I do not feel bad spending money on expensive yarn : when you invest a lot of hours knitting a garment, it is reassuring to know that it will last a long time and that is something you cannot be certain with cheap yarn.
    I agree also with supporting your local economy !

    1. Marion, even though I have my own reasons for “splurging” on yarn, it’s reassuring to hear from others who feel the same way. Thanks for sharing and I can’t wait to check out your blog!

  2. I don’t feel bad at all for spending money on yarn. I look at it like this: My sweater cost me $100 in yarn. It took me 2 months to make and comes out to about $50 per month for entertainment AND I get a cool sweater out of the deal. What’s not to love?

Comments are closed.