One Day in Vancouver: Favorite Eats and Walks

vancouver-island-granville-marketMy college roommate messaged me a few months ago to let me know she’d be in nearby Vancouver for a May wedding, so I jumped at the chance to see her and visit the city at the same time. Our plan: discover Vancouver on foot and eat our way through it, one bite at a time.

Favorite Vancouver Eats

Terra Breads

vancouver-granville-island-terra-breads

The sweet, nutty cinnamon brioche roll at Terra Breads seems to have become my breakfast go-to whenever I visit Granville Island Public Market. Plus, I found delicious praline almonds at a market vendor that gave me my whole entire life.

Miku

vancouver-miku-restaurant-aburi-sushi

I’ll always remember Miku for two things. It’s where I first sampled sake, and oh! all the good, warm feelings that followed. Second, the Aburi Salmon Oshi Sushi–the restaurant’s specialty–literally melts in your mouth with umami. It’s that good.

Nero Belgian Waffle Bar

vancouver-nero-belgian-waffles

Whipped cream and a scoop of vanilla ice cream drizzled with chocolate sauce on a bed of liège waffle is pretty much what my dreams are made of. It’s Nero Belgian Waffle Bar‘s “Dame Blanche”–White Lady, translated–and it’s even better when paired with a steaming mug of dark hot chocolate.

Favorite Vancouver Walks

Harbor Green Park

vancouver-harbor-green-park

Although it rained during my visit, a brief break in the downpour allowed for an amble along the waterfront. We watched as seaplanes landed, took off, and fueled up at a floating gas station while a thick mist covered the hills beyond.

Gastown

vancouver-gastown-lamplighter-public-house

Gastown, how do I love thee? Between the historic steam clock, the cobblestone streets, the old-timey lanterns, the chic boutiques and the tony eateries, Gastown is a neighborhood I would visit again…and soon.

It’s truly like I said on Instagram: with each visit, Vancouver is winning me over more and more. I’m already making plans for my next trip north.

