For the Record: February 12, 2016

Orchid, herald of Spring
Even my orchids are jumping the gun on spring…

For the Record is a look back at the week that was: I share my current obsessions, weekend plans, and other snapshots from a life in progress.

All told, it was a good week, ending on a high note with Galentine’s Day lunch with a handful of my colleagues and an uncharacteristically warm and sunny day to make my post-lunch walk back to the office a pleasant one. I’m very much looking forward to the long holiday weekend too but first, a look back at the week that was with a few links I think you’ll love, for the record:

Spring forward into fashion

Speaking of spring, I’ve got about six weeks to go before I put my heavy fall/winter clothing away in favor items lighter and more colorful. This step-by-step primer from The Everygirl is going to bring fresh inspiration as I seek to whittle my collection of warmer weather clothing and attempt build a spring capsule. Seriously, having a capsule wardrobe will change your life–it sure changed mine.

Back through the standing stones

Source
Source

Also coming back in six weeks: season 2 of Starz’ Outlander. It’s been almost six months since we last saw Claire and Jamie and if the just-released trailer is any indication, we’re definitely not in Scotland anymore. 18th century French costumes, anyone? Yes, please! Just promise me I’ll get to see Angus and Rupert again, okay? The second season debuts April 9 on Starz.

Knit, purl, retreat

Between paying out-of-pocket for my certificate classes and saving to buy a car later, all the luxuries I’m used to splurging on are on hold. As such, I nearly cried when I learned that the amazing Jared Flood was coming to my area for a four-day, all-inclusive knitting retreat on beautiful nearby Bainbridge Island. It’s too pricey for my budget, but if you’ve got the cash, you should definitely check it out.

Tulip tutorial

Although we still have a whole month left before the end of winter, but that doesn’t mean I can’t start thinking about one of my favorite late March/early April traditions: a visit to the vibrant tulip fields of Washington’s lush Skagit Valley. When you can get your hands on as many tulips as you want, it’s really worthwhile to know how to show them off to their best advantage.

A virtual visit to America’s national parks


Earlier this week I was fortunate to attend an IMAX 3-D screening of the new National Parks Adventure documentary, narrated by Robert Redford. Imagine America’s most beautiful places in full color, displayed on a screen several stories high in immersive 3D–it was so mindblowing. The documentary opens nationwide today, so check out dates and times near you.

On tap for the weekend

One of my resolutions this year was to finish everything I start, so I’m excited to announce that I FINALLY completed a sweater coat I’ve been knitting for my mom for over three year. Phew! Now I can dive guilt-free into another knitting project. I plan to take full advantage of the long weekend and simply get lost in the seductive and hypnotic rhythm of knits and purls. Beyond that, there’s nothing else. Wish me luck.

One thought on “For the Record: February 12, 2016

  1. naimazahin February 13, 2016 / 12:44 am

    Good read!

Comments are closed.