For the Record: January 29, 2016

2016-01-28-07.09.31-1.jpg.jpeg

For the Record is a look back at the week that was: I share my current obsessions, weekend plans, and other snapshots from a life in progress.

This week wasn’t without its challenges, but there were definitely some high points and lots to be grateful for! As is usual during this time of year, I’m really looking forward to summer and even more than that, to planning summer travel. High on my shortlist? A weeklong backcountry backpack in the Sierras. Before I get ahead of myself, however, here’s what else has been going down, for the record:

Monday nights are fun again!

Jane the Virgin and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend Jane the Virgin and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend are back on the CW network following their mid-season breaks. Are you watching? I can’t quite help holding out hope for a reunion between Jane and Michael and I’m wondering if Rebecca is finally going to get over Josh (side note: congrats to Rachel Bloom on her Golden Globes win!). This one-two comedy punch is the perfect way to beat your beginning-of-the-workweek blahs.

Plain? Hardly.

brooklyn-tweed-plains-yarnI’ve been looking for a new spring knitting project and, of course, I’m drooling over Brooklyn Tweed’s brand-new limited edition laceweight yarn called Plains. For all my knitting friends out there, just look at it. Doesn’t it look like it would feel divine between the fingers? Priced at just under $23 per skein, it’s a little out of reach for my pared-down knitting budget, but probably worth it to make a beautiful lightweight shawl as a gift just in time for Mother’s Day, don’t you think?

Sexy statement jewelry

betsy + iya boutiqueThanks to a feature in Brooklyn Tweed’s recent winter collection lookbook, I was recently introduced to betsy + iya, a Portland, Oregon-based boutique and purveyor of unique handcrafted jewelry. I’m just in love with their aesthetic and if I were to buy one new piece of jewelry this year, this colorful and eye-catching statement piece would certainly make my wishlist.

National Parks Love

national-park-find-your-parI’d be remiss if I didn’t put in a plug for something that’s very near and dear to my heart. This year marks the National Park System’s centennial, and all across the country, lovers of our nation’s natural treasures are celebrating. Think about it–100 years of national parks. 100 years of places like Yosemite and Yellowstone, Grand Canyon and Glacier Bay. I count myself #blessed to live in a land with so much rich ecological beauty and diversity, protected for generations to come. I hope you’ll join me and millions of others this summer–get out there and #FindYourPark.

Minimalism is for you

Did you miss this post about the contentment I’m finding in a decluttered life? It’s a theme that’s been coming up more and more lately, so I was delighted to stumble upon a similar piece at The Everygirl about the myriad benefits of minimalism. “I don’t miss a single thing,” writes author Caroline Wilder about her foray into a life with less. “In fact, I can’t wait to get rid of more. If I don’t love it, if it’s not useful, it has to go.” I couldn’t agree more.

On tap for the weekend

The weather forecast is calling for another few rainy days, but I’m still looking forward to exploring a nearby under-the-radar urban trail.  There’s lots to keep me busy otherwise, not the least of which is finishing a cardigan I’ve been knitting since 2012! Hope your weekend is every bit as rewarding.

 

