A Lovely Afternoon at Lake Crescent Lodge

For this year’s Mother’s Day celebration, I decided to surprise my mom with an experience I knew she’d treasure. It was meant to be a surprise, of course, so all week, I teased and goaded her with the vaguest of hints until Friday night when I finally spilled the beans: I was taking her on an extended day trip to the Olympic Peninsula.

Early the next morning, we were on our way via car and ferry with a quick stop in charming Poulsbo for some light, sweet pastries from renowned Sluy’s Poulsbo Bakery. Once we reached the peninsula and began heading west, we were treated to mountain views, savoring the beauty of the day as we navigated winding roads lined by towering evergreens. More than three hours after leaving Seattle, detained by a couple of unexpected snags that threw us off schedule, we arrived at our destination: beautiful Lake Crescent and the historic Lake Crescent Lodge

My original plan included working up an appetite on a hike to view nearby Marymere Falls, but we ultimately decided to skip straight to lunch at the lodge’s dining room. As though he’d read our minds, our genial host seated us at a window overlooking the lake as the warm spring sunshine danced and glinted off the water. Lunch–an open-faced Dungeness crab sandwich for her; a burger for me–was delicious, punctuated by sips of a refreshing raspberry Italian cream soda.

Following the meal, we made a quick detour to the gift shop and then strolled about the grounds, stopping to sit on the most awkward but awesome plank bench I’ve ever seen. We sat there for a few brief moments, enjoying the profound hush of the mountains, lake, and forest. I hate to use a cliché, but sitting at the water’s edge felt like being in paradise.

wpid-2015-05-10-01.51.05-1.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2015-05-10-01.53.26-1.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2015-05-10-01.58.04-1.jpg.jpeg

There’s little doubt I’ll return to this spot for a longer visit sometime in the near future, but for now, I’ll content myself with the memory of a pleasant lunch and lakeside afternoon spent with the best mom ever.

