For the Record: March 27, 2015

I can’t believe this week is already over. For almost the past three months, I’ve been waiting for next week to come and now it’s finally here! In a few days, I take off for sunny Central Coast California. This will be my third visit to a region that has become so personally meaningful to me.

It was while roadtripping somewhere along Highway 1 a few years back that I solved the terrible existential crisis of figuring out what the heck it was I should do with the rest of my life. In a moment of clarity among the golden grasses and beneath the warm California sun, I had what I can only call an epiphany. The impulse wasn’t specific; it was merely the realization that no matter what I did in this life, as long as I was telling stories, I’d be happy and fulfilled.

So I’m returning to a place that has become my own personal touchpoint for everything I hope to be and for everything I aim to do with this one life. It’s an annual pilgrimage, a homecoming of sorts to the place where the person I am today was born.

I hope you’ll follow along on Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat (@marshaess) as I seek out stories to tell and, in so doing, continue crafting the narrative of my own life.

