Nailing It on Vacation

I’ve never been one to wear cosmetics in general, and nail polish, in particular, is an enhancement I generally tend to shy away from. The careful brushstrokes, the waiting for polish to dry, the short-lived flawless finish, the pungent remover. Repeated ad nauseum, this process isn’t exactly my idea of time well-spent. Save for color on my toes during sandal season, I’m usually happy to let the tips of my digits go bare.

A strange transformation takes place, however, when it’s time to go on vacation. I begin paying significantly more attention to my personal appearance: new clothing is purchased, makeup brushes get packed, and I start planning what I’m going to do about my normally-naked hands and feet. Away from the restrictions and confinements of work-a-day life, a vacation offers unprecedented opportunity to try new things and give my fun side free rein for a few days.

There are still a few weeks yet before I leave for a California Central Coast roadtrip, but I already know there will be more than a couple Snapchats and Instagram photos of me holding a cool, fruity drink or digging my toes into the sand. My hands and feet had better ready for their closeups. After rummaging around my rarely-used nail kit, I’ve settled on a selection of colors for my grown-up spring break mani-pedi masterpiece.

travel-nails
(left to right) Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Golden-I; Sally Girl colors #144, #127, and #120; NYC Long Wearing in French White Tip; Sinful Colors in Big Daddy.

On my toes, I’m keeping things simple with Sinful Colors‘ Big Daddy, a coral-orange-red that offers a nice visual complement to the turquoises and teals and navies that form the bulk of my wardrobe. On my hands, it’s going to be a bit of a free-for-all with some creative nail art that I haven’t yet decided on but Pinterest!  I found some really great nail art tutorials and design inspiration to help me take my fingers from yawn to yowza.

“Beachy Keen” by Halle Butler via Nailpolis – Take the water and the sand with you wherever you go.

“Turquoise and Gold Stone” via the talented ladies at The Beauty Department.

Seafoam via Hey Nice Nails – Simple and easy to achieve.

Double-tipped French manicure via PopSugar featuring the negative-space nail trend that dominated the 2015 Spring runways.

On another nail-centric note

Have we talked about Seche Vite yet? We totally should. Recommended to me by a colleague, this fast-drying top coat is incredible! Nails are dry within minutes and on the very rare occasions I do paint my nails, I never need to worry about ruining the finish on my bedsheets. Great stuff.

Whether I decide to keep things simple and minimalist like these designs, or go a little crazy with something a bit more Sally Hansen-meets-Jackson Pollock, my main objective is to have fun. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Nailing It on Vacation

  1. thatemily March 18, 2015 / 6:57 am

    I love all those beachy themed nails! I have a similar thing – when I’m about to go away on vacation I suddenly want to stock up on loads of nail polish and makeup!

    • Marsha March 19, 2015 / 5:27 am

      Thanks for sharing, Emily! Now I don’t feel like I’m the only one!

Comments are closed.