On Moving Forward

If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.
– Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Not too long ago–about 12 months back, to be precise–I wrote about the importance of moving forward. At the time, I’d finally settled into an apartment of my own here in the Pacific Northwest and I’d just begun the process of building a life for myself. The word “forward” is, for me, a directive–a one-word command that continues to motivate me, driving me toward the life I envision.

Then there’s also backward. Stuff happens. The missteps and miscalculations you take on the path towards your goal. The circumstances beyond your control that steer you off course. The life you’d dreamed of for so long slipping slowly out of reach.

It’s challenging to weave Dr. King’s words with the outcome of a football game but I’m going to do it anyway because it’s where I am right now. Can we talk about the Seattle Seahawks’ electrifying, come-from-behind win against the Green Bay Packers yesterday to clinch the 2014 NFC Championship and a trip to Super Bowl 49? The very definition of what it means to keep moving forward, no matter what.

For those who aren’t interested much in football, a recap: The Seahawks won Super Bowl 48 in February but proceeded to start the 2014 season’s first six games with three wins and three losses. Many (including myself), thought the magic was gone. But then the Seahawks proceeded to win the last 10 games of the season, becoming the top-ranked team in the NFC West division and securing home field advantage throughout the playoffs.

Then, yesterday’s game happened.

There are other more sports-educated writers who can retell the story better than I can , but in a nutshell, during the final moments of the game, the ‘Hawks ultimately overcame a 16-point deficit late in the game to take the lead, ultimately scoring 28 points to the Packers’ 22.

All of Seattle–the Pacific Northwest, really–looked on in stunned disbelief as a touchdown pass in overtime sealed the ‘Hawks win and clinched the NFC Division title and a trip to Super Bowl 49.

That win was, for me, a metaphor for life. Yeah, I’ve made some missteps in my life. I’ve thrown a few interceptions. But that doesn’t mean that I can’t win this thing when it’s all over but the shouting. All I have to do is keep moving forward.

