A Hobby a Year: Photography

image

I’m rarely bored or at a loss for something to do. Between my many interests–card making, scrapbooking, embroidery, knitting, crochet, drawing, etc.–there’s pretty much always something I can do to keep myself occupied. However, when you have as many hobbies as I do, you run the risk of finding yourself in quantity over quality territory.[…]I decided that in order to truly enjoy my interests, I needed to devote myself to each hobby in some small way , even if only for a year at a time, and so A Hobby A Year was born.

I wrote these words in the beginning of 2014 with a promise to devote the year to becoming a better knitter. The goal: complete two knitted sweaters by year’s end. I’m proud to say I actually accomplished my objective, finishing a lightweight lace sweater to wear during spring and summer plus a heavier tweed cardigan as a fall and winter layer.

My plan is to continue knitting of course, but 2015 is going to be the year I become a better photographer.

I’ve always been passionate about photographing landscapes especially when I travel, but I’m most excited to develop my travel photography skills. Capturing time, place, and people through words and images is hugely important to me. I want to be a storyteller in the fullest sense of the word.

All year long, I’ll be studying the work of photographers I admire, getting behind the lens more often, committing to a greater understanding of the science of photography, and approaching the everyday with new eyes. There’s so much more to improving as a photographer but spending the next 12 months really focused on the craft is as good a way to start as any.

