For the Record: January 9, 2015

image

For the Record is a look back at the week that was: I share my current obsessions, weekend plans, and other snapshots from a life in progress.

This week marked a rather inauspicious start to 2015 but there were a few highlights and surprises. Although the weather was rainy and very, very wet, I took the opportunity to spend some time in the outdoors last Sunday and let me tell ya–it is the cure for whatever ails ya. I’ve been throwing myself back into the swing of things at work so life on the personal front is a bit quiet this week, but here’s what’s been happening, for the record:

Current obsessions

Pineapple + Pear + Cucumber + Kale Smoothies

image

After failing abysmally at making my very first smoothie, I’ve gotta say that this week’s attempt was a #SmoothieSuccess! 1/2 cup cubed pineapple, 1/2 cup cubed Anjou pear, 1/3 cup cubed cucumber + 1/4 cup chopped kale (with a diced nub of ginger, naturally) made for a winning combination. Can’t wait to try this one again, but with some added protein powder for staying power.

Galavant

A new ABC short comedy series that follows the adventures of a thirteenth-century knight errant, Galavant was definitely a highlight in my week. Singing, dancing, and hilarity ensue but my favorite thing about Galavant is King Richard’s beard. Can’t wait to see more of it (the beard and the show) on Sunday.

Knitting spring things

No, it’s not too early to begin thinking about knitting a few light and airy pieces for spring, not when it takes you (read=me) anywhere between 12 to 17 weeks to complete a garment from cast on to bind off. Although I’m pleased with the way my first knitted lace cardigan turned out, I’m looking forward to creating pieces that are a little less buttoned-up and more free-spirited. This tank and this vest are currently on the shortlist for pieces to start knitting now but I’m still not there yet. I’ll be sure to share my progress with picking a pattern with a March 20 end date in mind.

On tap for the weekend

After getting rid of the last vestiges of the holiday season, also known as disposing of our Christmas tree, I’m pretty much going to be a veg all weekend long except for watching the Seahawks playoff matchup against the Panthers on Saturday plus a short local hike on Sunday morning. See also: grocery shopping, so that I can eat more healthful meals and start saving towards my annual pilgrimage down to Central Coast California. Another round of chili, perhaps, some chick pea salad, and some tabbouleh with cold chicken, coming right up. And more smoothies. Definitely more smoothies.

