For the Record: January 2, 2015

Mount Rainier at sunrise on New Year's Day 2015.
Mount Rainier at sunrise on New Year’s Day 2015.

For the Record is a look back at the week that was: I share my current obsessions, weekend plans, and other snapshots from a life in progress.

I woke up early yesterday morning, headed to one of my favorite local hiking spots, and greeted 2015 with the sunrise. What an amazing way to start the new year! The weather was freezing and the wind was bracing, but how delightful it was to feel the gradual warmth of the sun as it emerged over the horizon. Already a 2015 highlight. Here’s what else has been going down, for the record:

Current obsessions

Winter hiking

wpid-imag6219_1.jpgAfter being thwarted in my attempt to hike all 13 weeks of last summer (yeah, that happened), I’m trying to stay in trail-ready shape by hiking throughout the winter. My first taste of Pacific Northwest winter hiking last year got me hooked–there are fewer people out on the trails plus winter here is mild and lush–so I’m really looking forward to spending as much time as I can in the outdoors throughout the cold season (layering is key!).

Digi-free bedtime

“A new study suggests that reading from a light-emitting electronic device like an iPad or iPhone has an adverse affect on sleep, as compared to reading a traditional printed book” asserts this piece in Fast Company. I’ve been pretty disciplined about leaving my smartphone outside the bedroom at night for better sleep since the near-constant beeps and dings were disturbing my slumber. Looks like I’ll be adding my tablet to the list of nighttime no-nos.

Drinking my fruits and veggies

wpid-imag6225_2.jpgLate last year, I began taking small steps toward embracing wellness both on the inside and the outside. Now that we’ve added a Magic Bullet to our list of kitchen appliances, I’m adding drinking fruit and vegetable-rich smoothies to my regimen. Yesterday morning, I blended kale, cucumber, pear, and frozen blueberries with a bit of ginger and had to strain the mixture before I could tolerate drinking it. #Fail. Undeterred, I’m determined to find a combination that’s both tasty and healthful. I look forward to sampling a few other smoothie recipes I’ve been curating on Pinterest.

TV treats

Excited for a couple of television season premieres coming up in the next couple of days: I’ve been inexplicably hooked on Alaskan Bush People, a “reality” series which follows a nine-person family living almost exclusively in the wilds of Alaska. The season two premiere is tonight on the Discovery Channel and I’ll be watching while I take down our Christmas tree. In addition, Downton Abbey is back for its fifth season on PBS on Sunday night. So what are we calling the Carson and Mrs. Hughes pairing–Hughson? If you’re on Twitter, you might just see me tweeting up a storm on the #AlaskanBushPeople and #DowntonPBS hashtags.

On tap for the weekend

Although our travel plans totally crashed and burned, it’s been really relaxing to take these last few days off from the office. This weekend I’ll be prepping to dive right back into a busy time at work, but not before I take some time to strategize and begin taking some concrete action steps towards achieving my personal goals. More on that later.

How is 2015 shaping up for you?

