For the Record: December 26, 2014

image

For the Record is a look back at the week that was: I share my current obsessions, weekend plans, and other snapshots from a life in progress.

Aaaand just like that, Christmas is over. Phew. I find this time of year more than a little stressful and although it’s enjoyable when it’s here, I’m also a bit happy it’s over. Now, it’s time to relax and savor these next few days I have away from the office. I don’t know yet how I’m going to fill the time, but I can pretty much guarantee that there’s some travel on the horizon, even if it’s just to the next town over. While I ponder my wanderlust, here’s what’s happening with me, for the record:

Current obsessions

Fossil Sydney Tab Clutch

fossil, wallet, sydney tab clutch, blue glowMy brand new Fossil Sydney tab clutch in discontinued color “Blue Glow” was a sneaky purchase I made during a last-minute Christmas shopping trip earlier this week. It’s lightweight and sleek with enough room for all of my cards, plus the bright turquoise color (I will never not buy turquoise) should be easy to locate in my bag. Originally priced at $50, I shelled out only $24 for this beauty –a certifiable score. Treat yo’ self? Why, yes–I think I will.

DIY Facial Scrubs

There are so many DIY facial scrub recipes out there using natural ingredients you probably have in your kitchen right now. I’ve been using a coffee and coconut oil mixture for the past week and my face hasn’t felt this soft and smooth probably since my second birthday. The downside? My face feels so good, I can’t stop touching it! Bonus: I get to go to bed every few nights smelling like a coffee bar on a tropical island. Win, win, WIN.

On My Lit List: All the Light We Cannot See

All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony DoerrIt’s currently sitting at the top of the New York Times‘ bestseller list, has a 4.2 out of 5 stars rating on Goodreads and there are 739 holds on 112 digitally downloadable copies of Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See at my local library (I know this because I’m number 739 on that list). I’ve never been much for reading books with mass popular appeal, but the premise of Doerr’s novel set against the backdrop of World War II is too compelling to resist.

Anthony Bourdain + Parts Unknown

What was I doing on Christmas Day? Binging on CNN’s Parts Unknown marathon. I love Anthony Bourdain. He’s the best kind of traveler–honest, unfiltered, willing to dive beneath the carefully crafted veneer of the world’s favorite destinations, and able to find dignity in the places no one thinks about visiting. And the food. The FOOD. I want his job but I’d never be able to replicate that reckless, rakish, and irreverent demeanor that makes him so engrossing to watch. Until I can start traveling again more regularly, watching Parts Unknown is almost the next best thing.

On tap for the weekend

I would have loved to take a ferry over to nearby Whidbey Island but since the weather forecast for the weekend leaves much to be desired, I’ll likely be curled up at home reading, prowling my favorite blogs, trawling the Internet for after-Christmas sales, and scouting locations for a First Day hike.

What does the weekend have in store for you?

