The 14 Most Important Lessons I Learned in 2014

Sunset in Pacific Grove, CaliforniaThe end of the year is always a natural time for reflection on the past 12 months and looking forward to the year ahead. 2014 represented, for me, a leap forward in my understanding of myself and my place in the world so at the end of November, I started documenting all of the most important lessons I’d learned during the year. Here they are, in no particular order:

  1. Flossing. It’s more important than you realize.
  2. When people show you who they really are, believe them.
  3. People value you as much as you value yourself.
  4. The path of least resistance isn’t always the right one to take.
  5. Let it go. Let it go.
  6. When you look good, you feel good (thanks, Moms).
  7. Hold your loved ones close. No, closer. No, even closer than that.
  8. The best way to learn is to try, fail, and try again. Failure is one of the best teachers in the world.
  9. Don’t wait to wear the new dress or the expensive perfume
  10. Every day you’re living and breathing is special.
  11. Honesty with yourself is the best kind.
  12. Early setbacks don’t mean you’re done.
  13. Don’t compare your beginning to someone else’s middle.
  14. That secret passion that’s been nagging you all your life? Give it air and room to grow and breathe and see what comes of it.

While there’s still a little bit of 2014 left (and possibly more lessons to learn), I’m really looking forward to next year and putting what I’ve learned into practice. To life!

2 thoughts on “The 14 Most Important Lessons I Learned in 2014

Comments are closed.