For the Record: December 12, 2014

The Getty Center, Los Angeles, CA
Currently obsessing over: Getting back to The Getty Center on a balmy April evening in Southern California.

For the Record is a look back at the week that was: I share my current obsessions, weekend plans, and other snapshots from a life in progress.

Current obsessions

CALIFORNIA, HERE I COME!

It’s all I can think about right now: a trip down to Los Angeles and Central Coast California for a week in April and I couldn’t be more excited! I’m thinking strolls along the water in Pacific Grove, roadtripping Big Sur, the Thursday Night Market in San Luis Obispo, and date night at The Getty in L.A.  Perfection.

BENEFIT COSMETICS’ THEY’RE REAL! MASCARA

I’m pretty frugal in general and normally, I’d never consider spending $23 on a tube of mascara but this stuff is AMAZING. Lengthens my lashes without clumping and best of all, it looks pretty natural. I never thought it was possible for me to fall in love with a mascara, but there it is.

The best Christmas song of all time

It won’t take long for you to figure out–if you haven’t already–but not only am I a big fan of Star Trek: The Next Generation, I also have a huge crush on Patrick Stewart. So when you remix clips from the show, set them in time to the tune of “Let It Snow,” and rename the resulting song “Make It So,” welp, you’ve got yourself a winner in my book.

Winter Hiking

One of the best parts of living in a temperate climate is the ability to continue outdoor activities all year long. After a scheduling conflict derailed my #HiketheSummer plans, I’m looking forward to hiking this winter. I think a return trip to Olympic National Park is definitely in order. Just need to find these hiking boots on sale to replace my badly worn current pair and we’re back in business.

On tap for the weekend

Shopping for my brothers and finally chopping down (and decorating) a Christmas tree. Getting ready for the office holiday party by purchasing a gourmet food item for our white elephant gift exchange and prepping one of my favorite dishes for our potluck. Seeing The Theory of Everything at the soon-to-be closed historic Harvard Exit Theater.  From here on out it’s a mad dash to Christmas and the new year but I’m pledging to be deliberate about slowing down and enjoying every moment I can.

