On the Menu: Chill-Chasing Chili

Chili with cornbread

It’s been raining all week, a storm that’s been dubbed the “Pineapple Express” is blowing through the West Coast, we’re heading into the shortest and darkest days on the calendar, and I’m chomping at the bit for a few days in sunny L.A. Most wonderful time of the year? Not quite. So tonight, I’m cheering myself up by watching some Christmas movies, dancing around my living room to Beyoncé’s 7/11, and eating a hot and spicy bowl of the easiest (and tastiest) homemade chili I’ve had in a while because, baby, it’s cold (and wet) outside.

The hardest part? The waiting. And that there seemed to be a ground cumin shortage at my neighborhood grocery stores this week. Although I imagine this batch of chili is going to taste much better tomorrow when the flavors have had a chance to settle into their marriage, it’s already pretty darned tasty tonight. I inverted the tomato sauce to diced tomato ratio (because I’m not that fond of tomatoes), basically threw the jalapeño in whole (the real heat’s in the placenta and the seeds), and cooked it on my stovetop over very low heat for a really long time in the absence of a slow cooker. Result? Success and a little something steamy for this hump day night, plus lunch leftovers for the rest of the week.

 

One thought on “On the Menu: Chill-Chasing Chili

Comments are closed.