Handmade Holidays: 4 DIY Gift Boxes

Handmade gift box

I’m a sucker for great packaging. In my opinion, a gift that’s been thoughtfully and beautifully wrapped and presented feels just a bit more special. As I look forward to gift-giving this holiday season, I’m also thinking about ways to make the gifts I give more memorable. Yes, it’s probably easier to simply purchase a ready-made box, but when you make it yourself, it’s a wonderful opportunity to customize the look and feel in keeping with the personality of the recipient. Here’s a short list of some quick and easy DIY box designs:

  • A simple, no-cut, folded cardstock box, easily accomplished with nothing more than a single piece of 12″ x 12″ cardstock (see above). Add a second, slightly smaller sheet of cardstock to create a covered box set. This design is my DIY box “go-to.”
  • For the love of all that’s holy, cover the toilet roll with some pretty paper first, but this super-easy toilet paper roll gift box could be perfect for holding small items (like homemade caramels) but make a roll from clean cardstock if you’re going that route. Please.
  • They’re not just for matches. These large DIY matchboxes are just a bit more fun with their slide-in, slide-out appeal. Opening one of these feels like a fresh surprise every time.
  • How can you not love a box you can make quickly and cheaply from a paper cup? I’ve not tried these DIY gobelet boxes before, but you can bet I’ll be adding this design to the list of boxes I’ll keep under my belt.
