For the Record: December 5, 2014

Candy canes

For the Record is a look back at the week that was: I share my current obsessions, weekend plans, and other snapshots from a life in progress.

I can hardly believe there are only 20 days left until Christmas! Even better, that means there are only 18 days left until my nearly two-week holiday break from work. Although there’s a lot of work to be done before I can call it good for the year (and even then, it looks like I’ll be working during the holiday break), I’m looking forward to some substantial downtime to lay the groundwork for what I hope 2015 looks like. Until then, here’s what my life looks like right now, for the record.

Current obsessions

Lisa Eldridge

I’m not big on wearing makeup, but I do recognize there are occasions that call for a little extra polish. A search last weekend for a “no makeup” makeup look (yeah, that’s a Thing) led me to Lisa’s YouTube channel. An honest-to-goodness professional makeup artist who’s worked with celebs like Alexa Chung and Downton Abbey‘s Laura Carmichael, Lisa’s expertise, step-by-step videos, sense of humor, and down-to-earth personality had me from the word “go.”

Bonne Maman Fig Preserves

Purchased to serve on a cheese plate with prosciutto or slather on a slice of whole wheat toast (with a side of bacon, naturally), I now put that sh*t on everything (sorry, Frank’s Red Hot.) Not too sweet with fresh figgy flavor, it’s the perfect partner for all things porcine. Fig plus pig forever.

Property Brothers At Home (and everywhere else)

I’m a home renovation and decor junkie, so I spend quite a bit of time watching HGTV’s Property Brothers. Twins Jonathan and Drew Scott help homebuyers locate affordable properties that need some love and then turn these houses into homes. The newest iteration of this partnership, Property Brothers at Home, shows both Drew and Jonathan renovating their new home in Las Vegas. What’s not to love about two guys who’d incorporate a custom suit of armor in their living room as a statement piece?

Star Wars: The Force Awakens Teaser Trailer

I grew up on Star Wars. And no, I’m not referring to the horrid prequels made a few years back. I’m talking about the original, un-remastered Star Wars films from the late 1970s and early 80s. The recently released teaser trailer for this seventh installment in the series, complete with John Williams’ incomparable theme, has me in full-on geek girl mode. December 2015 can’t come soon enough.

On tap for the weekend

With Christmas just under three weeks away, it’s time for me to get cracking on making the season merry and bright. On my to-do list: locating a Christmas tree farm to cut down my own tree (maybe?), finishing up my holiday shopping, making festive decor and ornaments on a budget, and prepping Christmas packages for the three guys I love most in the world. Busy, busy, busy.

