National Novel Writing Month 2014 is Here

It’s a good thing I stumbled upon the article “How to Stick to a Writing Schedule” the night before the beginning of National Novel Writing Month 2014. NaNoWriMo, as it’s known to enthusiasts of the written word, issues a challenge to wannabe novelists: start – and finish – that novel you’ve always been meaning to write. 50,000 words strong. Here’s all 30 days in November to do it in. Go.

For the curious, 50,000 words works out to just shy of 1,670 words per day, or 12,500 words each week. That may not seem like a lot, but it’s still a challenge. How do you create plausible characters with believable lives who are worth rooting for (or against)?  How do you develop a story that’s original if not entirely creative? Most of all, how do you carve out time to write, day in and day out, for 30 straight days? NaNoWriMo isn’t just about the end product — it’s about learning about and developing the practice of writing, and that the kind of exercise all good writers consistently need.

I’ve been aware of NaNoWriMo for a few years now, and I think I’m ready to finally start writing again and pursuing this challenge. I need to grow as a writer and I think participating in this year’s challenge is just the ticket I need to move me forward on my journey to becoming published novelist. Check in with me on my NaNoWriMo page at the end of November to see how I do.

