Snapshots from Vashon Island

On a whim, I took the ferry from Fauntleroy in West Seattle over to Vashon Island over the weekend. The weather was sensational, and as I’d never visited the island before and was in desperate need of a quick and inexpensive escape, a mini-mini-break to Vashon for $5.20 round-trip on a twenty-minute ferry ride fit the bill.

My ferry docked at the island just in time for me to catch one of the few buses that runs into downtown Vashon. The town center isn’t terribly expansive, but there were just enough dining establishments to give me the luxury of choice plus a handful of shops for poking around in.

After doing a cursory survey of the offerings, I settled in for lunch at The Hardware Store, a casual dining restaurant right at the heart of the town center. The meal was good, albeit unremarkable, but the highlight had to be the lime Italian soda I ordered as a treat: delightful to look at and as refreshing as liquid sorbet.

A refreshing lime Italian soda at The Hardware Store in downtown Vashon.
A refreshing lime Italian soda at The Hardware Store in downtown Vashon.

I only spent a couple of hours in downtown Vashon, but by the time my visit was over, I’d checked in at Vashon Pharmacy, more a pharmacy-cum-gift shop (they sell yarn, people!); Vashon Bookshop; and Vashon Island Baking Company where I purchased a snickerdoodle for the ferry ride back to West Seattle.

You gotta love a place where signage might still be called a shingle.
You gotta love a place where signage might still be called a shingle.

The trip didn’t last long–maybe four hours from door to door–but it was just enough to feel like a bit of an escape. We all need one of those every once in a while. A few more snapshots from my afternoon on Vashon:

Why don't more communities do this?
Why don’t more communities do this?
Some verse pinned to the Poetry post. Charming
Some verse pinned to the Poetry post. Charming
At Vashon Island Baking Company, one of the cooler, more creative uses of vintage baking tins I've seen in a while.
At Vashon Island Baking Company, one of the cooler, more creative uses of vintage baking tins I’ve seen in a while.
Washington State Ferry at Vashon Island
Homeward bound aboard the Washington State Ferries – still one of the best bargains in Puget Sound (if you’re not a car commuter).
