Friday Five: May 23, 2014

Lupine and daisies in bloom, Shilshole Bay
Lupine and daisies in bloom along the shores of Shilshole Bay. What a great way to cap off my weekend.

It’s been a good week. I made a couple of key furniture purchases that have elevated my home decor, helping me take my apartment from blah to beautiful. There’s some work involved with one of the pieces–a flip-down secretary desk that needs some TLC–but there’s nothing I love more than a restoration project. In the meantime, here’s what I’ve been reading (and loving) this week:

  • For those days when I forget the path to success does not often run smooth or straight, remind me that Salinger’s literary career took many twists and turns before The Catcher in the Rye became an iconic American literary masterpiece.
  • I’d written about this a while back, but Sign Painters, a documentary about the dying art of hand-painted signs, is now available. A reminder that I definitely need to check it out.
  • Is Instagram the new PR? This intriguing piece from New York Magazine‘s “The Cut” examines the burgeoning practice of using Instagram as a key tool in crisis communications.
  • In this article on FastCompany.com, an argument in favor of redesigning office environments to create productive spaces for introverts. As an introvert, I’d wager these suggestions might benefit everyone.
  • Because Colin Firth and Emma Stone are in it, I give you Woody Allen’s Magic in the MoonlightRead about it in the L.A. Times, watch the trailer, and mark July 25 on your calendar. You know you want to see it.
