Do Something Daring

I read her latest Facebook post with just the slightest twinge of envy. A sense of excitement and anticipation dances on every word and I find myself wishing we could somehow switch places: she could have my desk job and I’d be the one preparing to thru-hike the Appalachian Trail.

It’s not her adventure I want. It’s simply adventure–the chance to do something daring. In the last couple of weeks, I’ve been evaluating my life, where I want to be in it, and what I want to be doing. I’ve realized I’m simply marking time until the day I die.

There’s a difference you know. Between the people who squeeze every bit of joy and adventure out of every day and the rest of us, merely filling our days until their inevitable end. I want to be one of the former, those who move from dreaming to doing and to not just doing, but to doing something daring.

Like leaving an ordered, predictable life behind to spend five months thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail. Or giving up the steady paycheck to embark on the less stable career path of entrepreneurship. To be a person with nerve, with guts.

In a few weeks, I’m preparing to celebrate yet another birthday and I hope this milestone finds me out there, doing something spontaneous, choosing not the safe road, and creating the kind of life worth writing–and reading about.

