Chickpea Salad: A New Favorite

I’m cheap, I love good food, I’m not a great cook, and I need to lose some weight, so when I stumbled onto this recipe for chickpea salad–inexpensive, tasty, quick, and healthful–I knew I’d found a winner.

There’s not much to preparing this vegan dish. A can of chickpeas (also known as garbanzo beans) with tomato, red onion, parsley, garlic, olive oil, and lemon juice plus some salt and pepper to taste is the entire ingredient list. I can easily imagine having most, if not all, of these components on hand if I ever needed to throw a quick dish together.

Chickpeas in a bowl
The humble chickpea makes a hearty dish.
Tomato plus chopped parsley, red onion, and garlic
Grown from the ground. So fresh, so clean.
Chickpea salad ingredients
All the ingredients get tossed together, an hour or two to chill and then you’re done.

Et voilà! 

Chickpea salad with some toasted mini pita bread on the side. Truly a treat.

I’ve found a new favorite.

2 thoughts on “Chickpea Salad: A New Favorite

Comments are closed.