Beating the Winter Blues: Classic Lace Cardigan

Spring is so close, I can almost taste it. There are only thirty-eight days left until the vernal equinox on March 20 (hallelujah!) and I’m already obsessing about dreaming of warmer, longer days and shedding the dark, heavy winter layers I’ve been buried beneath for the last few months. To get me through these final weeks of my first Pacific Northwest winter, I began working on a knitting project that fixes my focus squarely on spring. I don’t quite remember how I found the pattern, but this delicious lace cardigan is my weapon of choice for beating the end-of-winter blahs. With a seductively simple lace pattern knit up in a lightweight, washable, wearable, and (mostly) natural yarn, I’m envisioning this delicate and airy cardigan as a comfortable yet chic layering piece that I’ll pack on my upcoming Central California Coast vacation and wear throughout the summer here in the gorgeous Pacific Northwest. #SpringIsComing.

Technically, this will be my first knit garment. I’ve made hats and scarves aplenty and we won’t count the two-sizes-too-big vest I knitted over a decade ago (I didn’t need no stinkin’ swatch…riiight) so I’m excited to see how it turns out. I’ll be sure to post photos when I’m done. Cross your fingers.

Pattern: Classic Lace Cardigan | Vogue Knitting, Spring/Summer 2013
Shown in: Cascade Yarns – Heritage Solid | Color: Steel

2 thoughts on “Beating the Winter Blues: Classic Lace Cardigan

Comments are closed.