February 2014: Looking Forward

In terms of the goals I set for January, I only accomplished a couple, namely finishing a small knitting project and reading Jeanette Haien’s The All of It. February is all about re-learning to focus. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking over the past few weeks related to making goals that are achievable and that matter for me right now. Reading and knitting are all well and good, but the purpose of this goal-setting exercise is all about getting on track for the life I’ve envisioned for myself. Without further ado, here’s how I plan to keep it moving forward in February 2014:

  • Do my taxes – Crossing my fingers in the hope of receiving a large enough refund to pad my savings, pay down my debt, and possibly take a short trip to someplace sunny.
  • Attend a networking event – When I was younger, I foolishly clung to the belief that success is a function of what you know. Silly rabbit! Who you know is definitely part of the equation and finding good mentors and peers to help guide your professional path is key.
  • Sign up for a 5K in March – Registering for a road race will, I hope, be a great catalyst for me to start running again. The goal is a fitter, stronger me.

I have other smaller, more pleasure-driven goals like knitting my first lacework garment and more personal ones that I won’t divulge here, but I’m hoping that February will be a month marked by less talk, more action, and making my dreams a reality.

