Focus

I had an amazing day at work.

From almost the moment I got into the office until the time I left, I put on my headphones, cranked up some tunes, and powered through my always-evolving list of tasks. Before starting the day, I’d scribbled the three most important tasks I needed to accomplish on my whiteboard and zeroed in on making sure those items were completed before I moved on to anything else.  At the day’s end, it was immensely satisfying to erase those high priority tasks from the board, today’s success setting me up for another productive day tomorrow.

There’s something to be said for focus.

Even though I hadn’t actively been thinking about focus then (maybe I had), last night I streamlined my social media streams a bit–stopped following a few Facebook pages and Instagram feeds that really weren’t adding any value to my life but were, in fact, detracting from it. As I unsubscribed from each feed, I realized how guilty I’d been of spending my attention and energy in these virtual spaces on things that, if I’d stopped to think about it, really weren’t important to me and to the goals I hope to achieve over the next five to seven years.

After stumbling across it a week or so ago, I’m really excited to add Daniel Goleman’s “Focus: The Hidden Driver of Excellence” to my reading list for the month of February. For the past few weeks, I’ve been feeling restless and stagnant and I know a lot of that stems from feeling capable of more but not ever seeming to break free of where I am right now. I know getting to the next step at work and in my private life will require saying “no” to the things that don’t matter and “yes” to the things that do.

And that’s basically want focus means for me: wanting more by wanting less.

2 thoughts on “Focus

Comments are closed.