Back to Basics

Between the recent car accident in the fast food drive-through and the subsequent gut-wrenching episode of Norovirus that appeared nearly 24 hours later, I think the universe is trying to tell me something.

I’ve been eating out a lot more than I’m used to, and it’s not doing anything positive for my waistline or my financial bottom line. It’s time for me to get back to basics. 

I’m inspired by this post by Tracy over at Shutterbean which details her approach to food prep and storage to help her get ahead and stay ahead of the hungries every day.

One of my biggest challenges isn’t so much in the actual preparation of food–I think I’ve become bored by my good ol’ standby dishes that I’ve been whipping up for years. My palate needs to do a little exploring and I think now is as good a time as any for that to happen.

I’m looking forward to sharing more of my forays into the kitchen on the blog, including how I’m making my kitchen more functional and more, well, mine. I have one small DIY project in the works and will continue my search for the perfect red enameled kettle as I turn my kitchen into a space that is at once useful and beautiful.

