4 Reasons I REALLY Need to Start Exercising

I put my old running bibs on the refrigerator door and my running medals above my bathroom mirror. I am not ashamed.
I put my old running bibs on the refrigerator door and my running medals above my bathroom mirror. I am not ashamed.

I know one of my goals for January was to reignite my fitness regimen, but I’m finding it much harder to do than I initially thought. Late afternoons at work (I’m trying to be much better at leaving at a decent hour) and the dark Pacific Northwest evenings have curbed my desire to get outside and get ‘er done. ┬áBy documenting all the reasons I really need to start exercising, I hope I can motivate myself to keep on movin’ it forward.

  • I’m down to three pairs of pants that fit. THREE. Out of seven. This makes it really awkward at work when I have to keep recycling and re-styling the same pants every three days (thank goodness for the occasional dress!) and hoping no one notices.
  • I need more energy – I’m pretty sure it’s a proven fact that people who engage in regular physical fitness sessions have more energy except that I’m too lazy right now to find a source to cite. I’ll simply say that anecdotal evidence from my running days (three years ago, now) suggest that physical activity leads to increased energy levels.
  • My brain needs more oxygen – Again, a proven fact but again, too lazy to look up a proper, peer-reviewed study that confirms it but again, from my own experience, I feel much more brilliant when I’m exercising regularly.There’s nothing I hate worse than feeling like a less intelligent version of myself. Apparently I am not too lazy to use run-on sentences. At least some running is happening in there.
  • I need to run a half-marathon by December – Running a halfie is on my list of goals for 2014 and I’d really like to make this happen. I miss running a lot and I’ve always found the biggest hurdle between wanting to become a runner and being a runner is the running part.
3 thoughts on “4 Reasons I REALLY Need to Start Exercising

Comments are closed.