Forward: It All Starts with Coffee

I woke up early today, threw on a thick sweatshirt, laced up my sneakers, and headed out into the cold morning air. The sun was only just rising, a staccato swath of bright golden pink in the east behind a bank of heavy gray clouds. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always loved dawn: sunrise, calm, and the sounds of a city stirring to life.

On this particular morning, I was in search of coffee beans. I’d just run out of them the day before and, it appears, I can’t seem to start my day without them. Luckily, I’m not one of those poor souls who’s incoherent without that morning cup of joe to get them going. Routine, instead, is what I’m after.

Since moving into my new apartment several weeks ago, each day has begun, more or less, in the same way. Boiling water. Grinding beans. French pressing an early morning cup of coffee. Cossetting myself into a cozy chair in a corner of my living room to get the day started. Read the news. Read my favorite blogs. Write. Connect.

It’s during this time when I get quiet and focus on my goals for each day and for the year ahead instead of just simply rushing into each day without a plan or a purpose. It all takes only an hour or so to happen but it’s an hour I’ve come to cherish and protect as sacred.

During the last few weeks of 2013, I wrestled with finding one word that would serve as a theme for 2014, a single word that would act as a point of focus, a touchstone for everything I wanted to accomplish over the next 12 months. The word I’ve chosen for 2014 is FORWARD. This word resonates deeply with me, who I am, and how my life changed in 2013.

For those who don’t know my story, for over a decade, I’d harbored a secret wish to move to the Pacific Northwest, but was always held back by the fear and uncertainty of making that move. In 2013, when means, opportunity, and nerve collided, I finally made that leap, leaving behind the stagnant life that had held me prisoner for years. I want to take the momentum of that move and keep going forward. Toward the vision of what I’d like my life to look like 10 years from now. Toward risk and ultimately, toward joy.

So here I am at the dawn of a new year, moving forward into the life I’ve always dreamed of…and it all starts with coffee.

One thought on “Forward: It All Starts with Coffee

Comments are closed.